The Wentworth Estate covers an area of around 7 square kilometres and comprises over 1100 properties situated on woodland and heath around the world-renowned Wentworth Club and the picturesque village of Virginia Water in Surrey.
The Estate lies adjoining Windsor Great Park, formerly the private hunting ground for Windsor Castle, and Chobham Common, a rare lowland heath which is a Site of Special Scientific Interest.
Originally a relatively small 19th century estate surrounding “Wentworths” (now the Clubhouse for the Wentworth Club), it was the family home of the brother-in-law of the Duke of Wellington. In the 1850s an exiled Spanish count, Ramon Cabrera, acquired the property, and after his death his English wife, the Countess de Morella, bought most of the adjacent lands to form the present Wentworth Estate. Some of the current road names are reminders of these former owners.
In 1923, W.G. Tarrant, a visionary builder who saw the potential for this beautiful site and who was also responsible for developing St George’s Hill, Weybridge, acquired development rights and over the next 40 years, working with his friend, golf course architect Harry Colt, the Estate became much as it is today.
During the Second World War, the ownership of the Estate had passed from Tarrant to Sir Lindsay Parkinson & Co Ltd. In 1964 a private Act of Parliament enabled the Wentworth residents to establish the Wentworth Estate Roads Committee (WERC), whose members must be WRA members, to own and administer the common parts of the Estate and protect the Estate covenants.